Elf on the Shelf

Image from elfontheshelf.com

I mentioned in a previous post that my Christmas spirit was kicking in early this year.  Part of that is thinking of all the fun things I’ll be able to do with Christmas when Rhys is older.  I’ve got a board on Pinterest dedicated to things I want to do with Rhys when he’s old enough and a good portion of my pins are Christmas activities. Having a child makes Christmas fun all over again.

One of my favorite Christmas activities which I’m most excited about is Elf on the Shelf.  I think it’s mainly an American thing, but if you find a little elf figure anywhere else you can easily recreate the fun!

The idea is that the elf performs crazy hijinks at night while the kids are asleep in the time leading up to Christmas.  You can have him do anything!  I came across a blog post on Pinterest which listed out 101 Elf on the Shelf ideas and I got even more excited about it.  If you have a “real” Elf on the Shelf Elf you can register him on their website and keep a scrapbook of his adventures which can be shard with friends and family.

I love stuff like this.  When my sister and I were kids, we’d spend the evening before St. Patrick’s Day making a leprechaun trap.  It was only a box which we made into a house with different rooms and furniture made from toilet paper tubes, fabric and tissue.  There was always a trap which was baited with a shiny penny.  When my sister went to sleep, I’d ransack the trap, take the penny and make it seem as if the leprechaun escaped by knocking a hole in the side or constructing a ladder with items in the trap so he could get out the trapdoor on the top.  We’d then run to the trap in the morning to see if we caught one.  She’d see the penny missing and the trap door was down and get all excited until we opened it up and saw that he’d escaped.  I don’t know where we got the idea from (my mom can probably answer that one) but we had a really good time and it kept us occupied while making the trap which I’m sure our parents were thankful for.  It was also one of the only times we actually got along.  I am definitely doing something like this with Rhys when he’s old enough.

I think that adult life is so devoid of magic that we should take advantage of any way to inject these moments into the lives of our kids.

Does anyone do Elf on the Shelf or have any other Christmas traditions to share?

Leave a comment

Filed under Rhys

Leave a Reply

